Drysdale Tennis Club

On the 31st August, 1928, the Drysdale Progress Association Tennis Club played their tennis on two courts to the north side of the present day Telstra exchange building and two courts situated at the rear of the Free Library (present day car park)

In 1930 the Bellarine Peninsula Tennis Association was formed from district tennis clubs, Drysdale, Leopold, Moolap, Ocean Grove, Portarlington, St Albans and Wallington. Drysdale won the first premiership in the new competition.

In 1941 the club changed its name to Drysdale Tennis Club playing mainly at the Collins Street venue. The Free Library courts fell into disrepair and the Fire Brigade used them for a running track before 1944. Improvements were made to the Post Office courts namely a shelter shed, kitchen and some conveniences. Electricity was connected in 1950 and in 1960 a third court was added to the complex.

A new club, Drysdale United Tennis Club, was formed in 1969, initially catering for Junior tennis in the Geelong Churches Association, playing on Mortimer’s private concrete court. In the early 1970’s three tennis courts were constructed adjacent to St James Church so the Drysdale United club relocated to the new venue.

Drysdale and Drysdale United merged to become the present day Drysdale Tennis Club in 1976, playing on both courts behind the Telstra Exchange and the courts adjacent to St James Church on the present site.
New clubrooms were completed in April 1978. The Club was very successful and tennis boomed in the town. In 1982 lights were installed and competitions were held on Monday, Wednesday and Thursday nights. Three more courts were constructed in the late 1980’s.

Today a modern clubhouse, three asphalt courts and three new artificial grass courts costing in excess of $70.000 fully paid for by the Club cater for 2 Senior teams, 4 Midweek teams, 6 Junior teams and night tennis members

Scroll to Top